Teacher Appreciation Week

IMG_5640Looking for a fun and easy gift to celebrate your favorite teachers? Check out this apple-themed gift idea that is perfect for Teacher Appreciation Week or the first day of school!

Monday kicked off one of my favorite weeks of the year: Teacher Appreciation Week! This is the one week in the year that is dedicated to thanking our teachers nationwide.  My excitement for this time of honoring educators is two-fold: Not only am I consistently appreciative of my littles’ preschool teachers, but I am a former elementary school teacher myself. For six years, I personally witnessed the love and hard work my colleagues put into shaping young minds. Teaching can be an exhausting, challenging and thankless job. But through thick and thin, teachers are committed to helping their students grow and be the best versions of themselves that they can be. Also, consider this: Our children spend the majority of their “awake” hours with their teachers each day.  Think about how much learning and nurturing takes place during that time!

WhyThankTeacher_MyLifeWithLittles

  • If you can read this, you should thank a teacher.
  • Have you ever signed an autograph or written your name? Guess what: You should thank a teacher.
  • If you’ve ever had a pocket full of change and could count exactly how much money was there, you should thank a teacher.
  • If you were able to hop onto your computer and make your way to this blog post, guess what: You should thank a computer teacher.
  • Teaching is the profession that creates all other professions. So if you have a career of any sort, I’m sure there is a long line of teachers who have encouraged you along the way! 🙂

Typically, I enjoy giving gifts with a personal touch.  Since becoming a working mommy, I don’t have as much time as I would like to create DIY gifts of my own. So, I enlisted a little help this year.  Check it out:

TeacherAppreciationGift_MyLifeWithLittles

First, I visited this fantastic Etsy shop: Susie’s Vinyl Creations

Susie makes the most adorable personalized Starbucks cups to fit your gifting needs. My favorite is the apple-themed cup with monogrammed lid. Not only are these travel cups reasonably priced, they are also reusable and recyclable. The recipient can also receive a discount each time they use the cup at their local Starbucks! It’s like a gift that keeps on giving! The icing on the cake is that the seller is incredibly responsive and helpful. She even sent me these beautiful photos of my order just before shipping them to me:

Photo credit: SusiesVinylCreations

Next, I visited trusty ol’ Pinterest in search of the perfect gift tag. Check out these printable “Thank You” apples from The Country Chic Cottage. Just a heads up, though: you may need to adjust your printer settings if you would like to print more than one apple tag on a page. Click the photo below to see how I did it on a MacBook.

After printing the apples, I cut them out and attached them to gift bags.  After tossing in a few mints and red tissue paper, the gifts were ready to go!

TeacherAppreciationGifts_MyLifeWithLittles

Some parents send gift cards, some purchase extra supplies or coffee and donuts for the school staff, and some may even help their child write a personalized card. Others simply make sure to say “Thank you” to their teachers in a genuine way on a regular basis. There is no wrong way to show your appreciation. Thanking a teacher doesn’t have to be expensive or overwhelming – great or small, teachers really love it when you show them you care.  ❤

Looking to add to a teacher’s classroom library?

Consider the following titles:

BecauseIHadATeacher_MyLifeWithLittles

WhatIfNoTeachers_MyLifeWithLittles

Looking for other creative ways to say “thank you”?

Check out this Pinterest board with clever ideas.

Pinterest_TeacherAppreciation_MyLifeWithLittles

What is your favorite way to thank a teacher? I’d love to read about your ideas in the comments below!

Happy Teacher Appreciation Week!

signature

Leave a Reply

